Highway Department

The Fayette County Highway Department is responsible for the construction and maintenance of the county highway system which includes 167 miles of highway and 51 bridges.  We provide various engineering services to the 20 townships which maintain 1,100 miles of roadway and 200 bridges.  We provide additional assistance to the townships by administering the Township Bridge and Township Motor Fuel Tax programs.


For questions or comments about township roads, please contact the appropriate Township Road Commissioner from the list below.


TOWNSHIP                ROAD COMMISSIONER                  PHONE#

Avena                    Doug Engeljohn                          (618)829-5810

Bear Grove              Gary Haupt                                (618)326-7445

Bowling Green          Richard Vaughn                          (618)267-6355

Carson                    Zachary S. Carter                      (618)423-2813

Kaskaskia                Jerry D. Mays                            (618)846-2103

LaClede                  Justin L. Schaal                          (618)245-3040

Lone Grove              Robert Harpster                        (618)349-6345

Loudon                    Robert (Mark) Reed                    (618)487-5282

North Hurricane        Kenneth Sanders                        (618)780-8065

Otego                      Kenneth Garrison                        (618)427-3075

Pope                      Bill Walker                                (618)432-5012

Ramsey                    Richard Thull                            (618)423-2213

Sefton                    Tom Stewart                            (618)347-2282

Seminary                  Randy Long                              (618)425-3579

Shafter                    Scott Wright                            (217)663-8284

Sharon                    Terry W. Denton, Sr.                  (618)423-2069

South Hurricane        Aaron Sampson                          (217)827-5616

Vandalia                  Bruce Henry                              (618)283-9142

Wheatland              Miles McConkey                        (618)349-6370

Wilberton                Robert Gehle                            (618)349-6321


For questions or comments about state routes, including winter road conditions, contact the Illinois Department of Transportation in Effingham at (217)342-3951 or click here to visit their website.


For the Fayette County Sub-Division Ordinance and Set-Back Regulations, please click here


Highway Department

P.O. Box 297

North Route 185

Vandalia, Illinois  62471


Phone: (618) 283-5025

Fax: (618) 283-3661




Michael A. Maxey, P.E.

County Engineer


Monday - Friday

7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

*Excluding Legal Holidays

Made with Namu6